Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

Changes to library opening hours

As agreed by our Cabinet in December 2018, the opening hours of some of our libraries are changing. The new timetables were decided following the library strategy consultation in the summer of 2018.

The reduction to opening hours is an important part of the Derbyshire Library Service Strategy, and will contribute to the £1.6 million the library service must save by 2021.

September 2019 changes

New opening times will be implemented from Monday 30 September 2019 at the following libraries:

  • Alfreton
  • Ashbourne
  • Bakewell
  • Belper
  • Bolsover
  • Buxton
  • Chapel-en-le-Frith
  • Chesterfield
  • Clay Cross
  • Dronfield
  • Eckington
  • Glossop
  • Heanor
  • Ilkeston
  • Long Eaton
  • Matlock
  • Newbold
  • New Mills
  • Ripley
  • Sandiacre
  • Shirebrook
  • South Normanton
  • Staveley
  • Swadlincote
  • Wirksworth

The current and new opening hours are attached to this page.

Future changes

Further opening hours changes will be subject to local public consultations starting in October 2019 at the following libraries:

  • Brimington
  • Clowne
  • Creswell
  • Duffield
  • Gamesley
  • Killamarsh
  • Somercotes

More details will be available soon. These are some of the libraries we are looking to transfer to community management, so any plans to change opening hours may be put on hold if a community group comes forward at these libraries.

Community managed libraries may operate different opening hours to those currently in place, but the timetables will be discussed and agreed with the library service. We'll make sure that we keep our library users updated on any planned changes.