We nominate first honorary aldermen for Derbyshire

7 December 2017

Six former councillors who have made a significant contribution to Derbyshire County Council will be created honorary aldermen and alderwomen.

Annette Noskwith CBE, Joyce Sanders, Stuart Ellis, John Harrison, Andrew Lewer MP MBE and John Williams have all served as county councillors.

The six have all been chosen because they have rendered eminent service as past members.

Annette Noskwith represented Sandiacre for 42 years, from 1967 to 2009. Joyce Sanders was elected for Belper and served 1997 to 2009. Stuart Ellis represented Holymoorside and Wingerworth from 2009 to 2017 and was a cabinet support member for education, leadership and culture. John Harrison was the member for Melbourne from 2000 to 2013 and was also a cabinet member.

Andrew Lewer was leader from 2009 to 2013 and represented Ashbourne. John Williams was leader from 2001 to 2009 and was the member for Staveley.

The new honorary aldermen and alderwomen will each be presented with a badge of office and their name recorded on a roll of honour.

While they won't have any right to participate in the meetings of the council or its committees beyond that of any member of the public, or to claim any allowances payable under the members' allowance scheme, they will be invited to civic ceremonies, meetings and events.

Councillor Barry Lewis, Leader of Derbyshire County Council and Cabinet Member for Strategic Leadership, Culture and Tourism:

"It will be a great pleasure for me to see this honour bestowed on our new honorary aldermen and alderwomen. They have all served the county with dedication and have earned the respect of the public and of council members. I'm sure they'll take great pride in their new role and continue to represent our county with honour."

They will receive the honour at a special meeting before the meeting of Full Council on Wednesday 7 February 2018.

Honorary aldermen and alderwomen will receive invitations to civic events and ceremonies, receive council papers, be accorded death honours as for serving members and be addressed by the courtesy title Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman.